CIRCLES. A music performance in public space

At its core, every city is an invisible network of relationships between the people who live in it – a web of transactions, conversations, encounters, and clashes. In a haunting live symphony, CIRCLES brings together choirs and individual singers from all parts of Stuttgart in a multidimensional production: an audiovisual ritual of musical-choreography, visual art and live video projection from a bird’s eye view, composed to create a chaotic-eruptive and colourful artistic expression of human relationships and celebrate their complexity. CIRCLES is a large-scale composition of voice, movement, and colour, illuminating the power of collective intelligence.

Zur Deutschen Fassung wechseln.

CIRCLES @ DIE IRRITIERTE STADT

CIRCLES. A music performance in public space by Marie Bues, Amir Shpilman, Ariel Cohen and Yair Kira

Every city has its rhythm from daily routines. Each city forms a structure of transactions, conversations and encounters. Every city has a structure of sounds, smells, emotions and colours. The choral symphony CIRCLES translates this complex pattern into a large-scale choral performance for hundreds of participants, choirs and individuals. Composer Amir Shpilman, director Marie Bues, dancer Ariel Cohen, artists Yair Kira and Naoto Hieda and conceptor Kerstin Wiehe develop together with 400 choristers a ritual, a chaotic-eruptive celebration of the complex city and the people in it.

CIRCLES means above all music. The structure of this new choral music is so simple that it can be rehearsed in guided workshops with about 400 singers. The influence of the sound through the immediate proximity to the musicians will irritate the audience during the performances, as well as question their orientation in space and their role during the choral ritual.

CIRCLES is interdisciplinary, experimental, but above all, CIRCLES is a remarkable reinterpretation of the idea of space-sound and the idea of music as a community-building, but possibly also beautifully disturbing ritual. Amir Shpilman, who as a composer and conductor is interested in the physicality of music, has around 400 singers perform together with the dancer and choreographer Ariel Cohen. The moving-sounding actions are flanked by 3D colour choreographies developed by visual artist and designer Yair Kira. A bird’s eye view camera transfers the changes in the concentric circle of the performers onto a building. The project is directed by Marie Bues, director and since 2013 in tandem with Martina Grohmann artistic director of Theater Rampe in Stuttgart.

Simulator – Naoto Hieda

Amir Shpilman’s vision is to emphasize the power of collective intelligence through a large-scale composition in which voice, color, and movement are in continuous change, and are influencing one another. Based on principles of self-organized systems and interactions between individuals, a mass swarm of rich colors and sounds, will emerge and swirl in and around the audience. CIRCLES will be fulfilled when the audience who is walking inside this swarm and being exposed to this extremely intense experience, will ask themselves: “Am I a spectator or part of the performance?”

Idea, concept & composition: Amir Shpilman

Stage direction: Marie Bues

Choreography: Ariel Cohen

Design: Yair Kira

Musical direction: Jörg-Hannes Hahn

Scientific support: Robert Löw, 5th Institute of Physics

Simulator & Media Instruments: Naoto Hieda

Artistic consultant & Platform: Kerstin Wiehe

Virtual Instrument programing: Christoph Amann

Sound engineer: Timo Kleinemeier

Local choirs and performers

——-

Present at the Festival 2020 with online tools, lectures and rehearsals

Live premiere in the post-pandemic period from summer 2021

Launch of the online platform for choirs in March 2021

CIRCLES online plattform

Starting in March 2021, members of different choirs will be able to connect online and get acquainted via the CIRCLES online platform which will prepare them for their outdoor performance in summer 2021!

The platform includes interactive individual and group exercises and instructions for self-study and physical practice of the composition already from home.

The exercises will come in the forms of playful challenges for the participants to overcome together with their colleagues and includes all three elements of the work; voice, movement, and color. From beginners to advanced, the performance level of participants will improve as they progress through the challenges which step by step gets harder and more complex. 

The friendly interface will invite users of the platform to try, test, and create new compositions together with their colleagues based on the CIRCLES system that uses artistic processes to train individuals in collective work.

Sub-groups of participants would be able to produce videos of their creations using basic technology found in any smartphone or computers, post them on the platform, and comment on other’s videos. The platform will help participants inspire each other and build a vibrant community of all CIRCLES performers. 

The platform allows singers from around the world to join our performance community, share their ideas, and take part in the project.

We are looking forward to seeing you all on the CIRCLE online platform STARTING MARCH 2021!

To Join the platform email to: info@circles-online.com

Media

This video is an open invitation by Amir Shpilman to singers, choirs and conductors to participate in CIRCLES – now in summer 2021!

For further details on how to participate in the project, please send an email to: info@circles-online.com

INSTRUCTIONS for a SOUND-MOVEMENT-COLOUR experiment:

If you would like to experiment with sound and movement as a first preparation for participating in CIRCLES 2021, print out our sound and movement amplifier and build a funnel out of it (Attention: Please cut out the circle).

Then download the sound-light app on your mobile phone.

If you now insert the mobile phone into the funnel with the speakers facing upwards, you can produce the sounds and colours of the app through the circle.

Think up your own little movement choreography and perhaps find a few fellow participants* with whom you can perform the sound and movement exercise together in the CIRCLE. On the one hand you can experience the Doppler effect and on the other hand you can already make your first experiences in passing on sound, movement and colours as preparation for the participation in CIRCLES 2021 in Stuttgart. Have fun with it 🙂

Our team – Interdisciplinary cooperation as a resource

As a trained conductor, the composer Amir Shpilman is interested in the physicality of music. He often works with theatrical means, dancers, designers, visual artists, poets, authors, and scientists to realize his musical ideas. He has a special interest in chaotic structures and large scale performances. Fascinated by shapes that reflect the inherent musical forms, he strives to translate the relationship between structure and volatility into authentic expression. He has worked with the European Capital of Culture (Wroclaw), Ensemble Intercontemporain (Paris), Maxim Gorki Theater (Berlin), International Contemporary Ensemble (New York), Ensembles Meitar and Nikel (Tel Aviv), Interface (Frankfurt), AuditivVokal (Dresden), Ensemble Mosaik and LUX: NM (Berlin) and Ensembles Reconsil and Platypus (Vienna) among others.

Marie Bues is a director and since October 2013, together with Martina Grohmann, artistic director of Theater Rampe Stuttgart. Since 2008 she has been working as a freelance director at the Theater Basel, Residenztheater Munich, Nationaltheater Mannheim, Staatstheater Karlsruhe and Staatstheater Saarbrücken. At Theater Rampe she focuses on contemporary drama and experimental contemporary theatre practice.

Yair Kira is a visual artist and product designer who is engaged in functional design and conceptual artwork. He received his third academic degree – as product designer – at the UdK Berlin. Due to his extensive experience in dealing with new technologies, he is a highly qualified designer. Kira takes the freedom to explore unexpected and new artistic approaches and uses his diverse knowledge to create interdisciplinary contemporary art. He cooperates with composers, painters, dancers and even doctors. His work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions throughout Europe. He is nominated for the German Design Award 2019.

©_Nancy Görlach

Ariel Cohen born in Western Massachusetts, USA, has a Bachelor’s degree in English and a Master’s degree in dance. Since 2010 she lives in Berlin and works as a freelance dancer with Tino Sehgal, Micha Purucker, Nir de Volff, the Dance Theater Karine Jost and Joshua Monten, among others. She also teaches Pilates and has various teaching positions in dance, choreography, anatomy and kinesiology. Since 2011 Ariel Cohen has consistently been dancing for backsteinhaus produktion. Here she performed the pieces Absent, a piece of cake, paradies fluten and How to sell a murderhouse.

© Felix_Grünschloss

Naoto Hieda is a Japanese artist. He received a Bachelor of Engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan) and a Master of Engineering from McGill University (Canada). His research interest is in algorithmic and procedural expression, which bridges the gap between neurodiversity, digital media and analogue fabrication. His work has been shown at Miraikan (Japan), Works/San Jose (USA), Favoriten Festival (Germany), Never Apart (Canada) and Seoul Art Space Geumcheon (Korea). He was a scholarship holder of the danceWEB program (Austria, mentor Tino Sehgal) and the Pola Art Foundation (Japan). Since 2019 he has been studying at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne.

Kerstin Wiehe founded and manages k&k kultkom. As a journalist and cultural manager for experimental cultural formats and cultural education, her work focuses on cultural projects that cross interfaces, genres and borders. The initiation of interdisciplinary processes and the related changes in structures and approaches are also an integral part of her work. Her research and work include experimental interdisciplinary art forms and new forms of learning and teaching in the context of artistic practice. She teaches at various universities. Kerstin Wiehe is also a singer herself.

Robert Löw is an experimental physicist and conducts research at the University of Stuttgart into the fundamentals of quantum physics. In addition to his research and teaching activities, Robert Löw has realised several participatory exhibitions on physics topics, set up a laboratory for schoolchildren and carried out various projects in art museums over the last 20 years.

CIRCLES. Eine Musikperformance im öffentlichen Raum

Im Kern ist jede Stadt ein unsichtbares Beziehungsgeflecht zwischen den Menschen, die in ihr leben – ein Netz von Transaktionen, Gesprächen, Begegnungen und Zusammenstößen. In einer eindringlichen Live-Sinfonie bringt CIRCLES Chöre und einzelne Sängerinnen und Sänger aus allen Teilen Stuttgarts in einer mehrdimensionalen Inszenierung zusammen: ein audiovisuelles Ritual aus Musikchoreografie, Bildender Kunst und Live-Videoprojektion aus der Vogelperspektive, komponiert zu einem chaotisch-eruptiven und farbenfrohen künstlerischen Ausdruck menschlicher Beziehungen und der Feier ihrer Komplexität. CIRCLES ist eine groß angelegte Komposition aus Stimme, Bewegung und Farbe, die die Kraft der kollektiven Intelligenz beleuchtet.

Switch to English.

CIRCLES @ DIE IRRITIERTE STADT

Jede Stadt hat ihren Rhythmus aus täglichen Routinen. Jede Stadt bildet ein Gefüge aus Transaktionen, Gesprächen und Begegnungen. Jede Stadt hat eine Struktur aus Klängen, Gerüchen, Emotionen und Farben. Die Chor-Sinfonie CIRCLES übersetzt dieses vielschichtige Muster in eine groß angelegte Chor-Performance für Hunderte von Mitwirkenden, Chöre und Einzelpersonen. Komponist Amir Shpilman, Regisseurin Marie Bues, Tänzerin Ariel Cohen, Künstler Yair Kira und Naoto Hieda und Konzepterin Kerstin Wiehe entwickeln zusammen mit 400 Chorsänger*innen ein Ritual, eine chaotisch-eruptive Feier der komplexen Stadt und der Menschen in ihr.

CIRCLES bedeutet vor allem auch Musik. Die Struktur dieser neuen Chor- Musik ist so einfach, dass sie innerhalb von angeleiteten Workshops mit etwa 400 Sänger*innen einstudiert werden kann. Der Klang-Einfluss durch die unmittelbare Nähe zu den Musiker*innen, wird das Publikum während der Performances irritieren, sowie ihre Orientierung im Raum und ihre Rolle während des chorischen Rituals in Frage stellen.

CIRCLES ist interdisziplinär, experimentell, vor allem aber ist CIRCLES eine bemerkenswerte Neuinterpretation der Idee des Raum-Klangs und der Idee von Musik als Gemeinschaft stiftendem, aber möglicherweise auch schön verstörendem Ritual. Amir Shpilman, der sich als Komponist und Dirigent für die Körperlichkeit von Musik interessiert, lässt rund 400 Sänger*innen gemeinsam mit der Tänzerin und Choreographin Ariel Cohen performen. Flankiert werden die bewegt-klingenden Aktionen von 3D-Farb-Choreographien, entwickelt von dem Visual Artist und Designer Yair Kira. Dabei überträgt eine Kamera aus der Vogelperspektive die Veränderungen im konzentrischen Kreis der Performer*innen auf ein Gebäude. Regie führt Marie Bues, Regisseurin und seit 2013 mit Martina Grohmann im Tandem, künstlerische Leiterin des Theater Rampe in Stuttgart.

Simulator – Naoto Hieda

Amir Shpilmans Vision ist es, die Kraft der kollektiven Intelligenz durch eine groß angelegte Komposition hervorzuheben, in der Stimme, Farbe und Bewegung in einem ständigen Austausch stehen. Basierend auf den Prinzipien selbstorganisierter Systeme und den Interaktionen zwischen den Individuen wird ein Massen-Schwarmverhalten von satten Farben und Klängen entstehen und im und um das Publikum herum wirbeln. CIRCLES erfüllt sich dann, wenn das Publikum, die sich in diesem Schwarm bewegen und dieser äußerst intensiven Erfahrung ausgesetzt sind, sich fragen werden: “Bin ich ein Zuschauer*in oder Teil der Aufführung?”

Mitwirkende:

Amir Shpilman: Idee, Konzept und Komposition

Marie Bues: Regie

Ariel Cohen: Choreographie

Yair Kira: Design

Jörg-Hannes Hahn: Musikalische Leitung

Robert Löw: Wissenschaftliche Begleitung

Naoto Hieda: Simulator & Medien-Instrumente

Kerstin Wiehe: Plattform und Künstlerische Beratung

Christoph Amann: Programmierung Virtuelles Instrument

Timo Kleinmeier: Soundingenieur

Lokale Chöre

>>>>

Präsent im Festival 2020 mit Online Tools, Vorträgen und bei der Eröffnung

Live-Uraufführung in der nach-pandemischen Zeit ab Sommer 2021

Start der Online-Plattform für Chöre im März 2021

CIRCLES Online-Plattform

Ab März 2021 können sich die Mitglieder verschiedener Chöre online verbinden und die CIRCLES Online-Plattform kennen lernen, die sie auf ihren Auftritt im Sommer 2021 vorbereiten wird!

Die Plattform umfasst interaktive Einzel- und Gruppenübungen sowie Anleitungen zum Selbststudium und zur physischen Übung der Komposition bereits von zu Hause aus.

Die Übungen werden in Form von spielerischen Herausforderungen für die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer angeboten, die sie gemeinsam mit ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen bewältigen müssen, und umfassen alle drei Elemente des Werkes: Stimme, Bewegung und Farbe. Vom Anfänger bis zum Fortgeschrittenen wird sich das Leistungsniveau der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer verbessern, während sie die Herausforderungen, die Schritt für Schritt schwieriger und komplexer werden, meistern.

Die Plattform mit ihren Übungen wird die Benutzer*innen dazu einladen, gemeinsam mit ihren Kolleg*innen neue Kompositionen auszuprobieren, zu testen und zu kreieren, die auf dem CIRCLES-System basieren, welches künstlerische Prozesse nutzt, um Einzelpersonen in der kollektiven Zusammenarbeit zu schulen.

Kleien und große Gruppen von Teilnehmerinnen udn Teilnehmern wären in der Lage, Videos ihrer Kreationen mit der Technologie zu produzieren, die in jedem Smartphone oder Computer zu finden ist, sie auf der Plattform zu veröffentlichen und die Videos anderer zu kommentieren. Die Plattform wird den Teilnehmer*innen helfen, sich gegenseitig zu inspirieren und eine lebendige Gemeinschaft aller CIRCLES-Künstler*innen aufzubauen.

Die Plattform ermöglicht es Sängerinnen und Sängern aus der ganzen Welt, unserer Performance-Community beizutreten, ihre Ideen auszutauschen und sich am Projekt zu beteiligen.

Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie alle auf der CIRCLES Online-Plattform ANFANG MÄRZ 2021 zu sehen!

Um der Plattform beizutreten, senden Sie eine E-Mail an: info@circles-online.com

Unser Team

Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit als Ressource

Als ausgebildeter Dirigent interessiert sich der Komponist Amir Shpilman für die Körperlichkeit der Musik. Er arbeitet daher oft im Theaterbereich und auch mit Tänzern, Designern, visuellen Künstlern, Dichtern, Schriftstellern und Wissenschaftlern zusammen, um seine musikalischen Ideen zu verwirklichen. Er hat ein besonderes Interesse an chaotischen Formen als künstlerisches Mittel. Shpilman verantwortete den deutschen Beitrag zur Kulturhauptstadt Europas Breslau für Sinfonieorchester und großen Chor am Ufer der Oder und arbeitete u.a. schon mit dem Ensemble Intercontemporain (Paris), Maxim Gorki Theater (Berlin), International Contemporary Ensemble (New York), Ensembles Meitar und Nikel (Tel Aviv), Interface (Frankfurt), Ensemble Mosaik und LUX: NM (Berlin), AuditivVokal (Dresden) zusammen.  

Marie Bues ist Regisseurin und seit Oktober 2013 gemeinsam mit Martina Grohmann Künstlerische Leiterin des Theater Rampe Stuttgart. Seit 2008 inszeniert sie als freie Regisseurin unter anderem am Theater Basel, Residenztheater München, Nationaltheater Mannheim, Staatstheater Karlsruhe und am Staatstheater Saarbrücken. Am Theater Rampe legt sie einen Schwerpunkt auf Gegenwartsdramatik und experimentelle zeitgenössische Theaterpraxis. Weitere Infos: www.theaterrampe.de 

Ariel Cohen, in Westmassachusetts, USA, geboren, absolvierte ein Bachelorstudium in Englisch und hat einen Masterabschluss in Tanz. Seit 2010 lebt sie in Berlin und arbeitet als freie Tänzerin  u.a. mit Tino Sehgal, Micha Purucker, Nir de Volff, dem Dance Theater Karine Jost und Joshua Monten zusammen. Zudem unterrichtet sie Pilates und hat verschiedene Lehraufträge in Tanz, Choreografie, Anatomie und Kinesiologie. Seit 2011 tanzt Ariel Cohen immer wieder für backsteinhaus produktion. Hier wirkte sie bei den Stücken Absent, a piece of cake, paradies fluten und How to sell a murderhouse mit. 

Naoto Hieda ist ein japanischer Künstler. Er erhielt einen Bachelor of Engineering vom Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan) und einen Master of Engineering von der McGill University (Kanada). Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt dem algorithmischen und prozeduralen Ausdruck, der eine Brücke zwischen Neurodiversität, digitalen Medien und analoger Fabrikation schlägt. Seine Arbeiten wurden bei Miraikan (Japan), Works/San Jose (USA), Favoriten Festival (Deutschland), Never Apart (Kanada) und Seoul Art Space Geumcheon (Korea) präsentiert. Er ist Empfänger eines Stipendiums des danceWEB-Programms (Österreich, Mentor Tino Sehgal) und eines Stipendiums der Pola Art Foundation (Japan). Seit 2019 ist er Diplom II-Student an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (Deutschland).

Yair Kira ist ein Bildender Künstler und Produktdesigner, der sich mit funktionalem Design und konzeptuellen Kunstwerken beschäftigt. Seinen bereits dritten akademischen Abschluss – als Produktdesigner – hat er an der UdK Berlin erworben. Aufgrund seiner großen Erfahrung im Umgang mit neuen Technologien nimmt Kira sich die Freiheit, unerwartete und neue künstlerische Ansätze als experimente zu erkunden, und nutzt seine vielfältigen Kenntnisse, um interdisziplinäre, zeitgenössische Kunst zu schaffen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in ganz Europa gezeigt. Er ist für den German Design Award 2019 nominiert.

Kerstin Wiehe gründete und leitet k&k kultkom. Als Publizistin und Kulturmanagerin für Experimentelle Kulturformate und Kulturelle Bildung sind ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte kulturelle Projekte die schnittstellen-, genre- und grenzüberschreitend ausgerichtet sind. Die Initiierung von interdisziplinären Prozessen und den damit zusammenhängenden Veränderungen in den Strukturen und Denkansätzen sind ebenfalls integraler Bestandteil ihrer Arbeit. Sie forscht und arbeitet u.a. zum Thema experimentelle interdisziplinäre Kunstformen und neue Formen des Lernens und Lehrens im Kontext künstlerischer Praxis. Sie lehrt an verschiedenen Universitäten. Kerstin ist selber Sängerin.

Robert Löw ist Experimentalphysiker und forscht an der Universität Stuttgart zu den Grundlagen der Quantenphysik. Neben seiner Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit hat Robert Löw in den letzten 20 Jahre mehrere Mitmach-Ausstellungen zu physikalischen Themen realisiert, ein Schülerlabor aufgebaut und diverse Projekte in Kunstmuseen durchgeführt.

Medien

Dieses Video ist eine offene Einladung von Amir Shpilman an Sänger*innen, Chöre und Dirigent*innen an CIRCLES – jetzt im Sommer 2021 – teilzunehmen!

Für weitere Einzelheiten zur Teilnahme am Projekt senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an: info@circles-online.com

ANLEITUNG für ein SOUND-MOVEMENT-COLOUR-Experiment:

Wenn Sie als erste Vorbereitung für die Mitwirkung an CIRCLES 2021 schon etwas experimentieren möchten mit Sound und Bewegung, drucken Sie sich unseren Klang- und Bewegungsverstärker aus und bauen sich einen Trichter daraus (Achtung: vorher den Kreis ausschneiden).

Dann laden Sie sich auf dem Handy die Klang-Licht App herunter.

Wenn Sie nun das Handy mit den Lautsprechern nach oben in den Trichter stecken, können Sie durch den Kreis die Klänge und Farben der App produzieren.

Denken Sie sich eine eigene kleine Bewegungschoreographie aus und suchen Sie sich vielleicht noch ein paar Mitstreiter*innen mit denen Sie gemeinsam im CIRCLE die Klang-Bewegungs-Übung durchführen. Hierbei können sie einerseits den Dopplereffekt erleben udn andererseits schon erste Erfahrung im Weiterreichen von Klang, Bewegung und Farben machen als Vorbereitung für die Teilnahme an CIRCLES 2021 in Stuttgart. Viel Spaß dabei 🙂